Imagine Nashua is the City’s comprehensive planning process—an initiative that will combine inclusive community engagement with major plans created in the past 20 years to craft an innovative vision for the future of Nashua. This master plan focuses on equity, resilience, and climate protection as core values guiding growth and development in the city.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee will work closely with the City and consultant team to provide oversight and guidance on the master plan content, and expand public outreach throughout the Imagine Nashua planning process.


  • Mayor James Donchess, Mayor
  • Cheryl Lindner, Mayor’s Designee
  • Scott LeClair, Planning Board Chair
  • Adam Varley, Planning Board Member
  • David Tencza, Chair of PEDC
  • Raymond Guarino, Nashua School Board Member
  • Heather Raymond, Back-up for School Board Member
  • Wendy Hunt, Nashua COC President
  • Paul Shea, GAD Executive Director
  • Dan O’ Donnell, Back-up for GAD (Board President)
  • John Jurczyk, President of St. Joseph Hospital
  • Scott Cote, Designee from SHNMC
  • Bob James
  • Raymond Brousseau, BAE Representative
  • Amber Logue, Chair of Masterplan Committee
  • Rabbi Jon Spira-Savett, Ward 1 Resident
  • Marjorie Bollinger Hogan, Ward 2 Resident
  • Gene Porter, Ward 3 Resident
  • Heidi MacDonald, Ward 4 Resident
  • Gloria McCarthy, Ward 5 Resident
  • Peter Schaefer, Ward 7 Resident
  • Mary Ann Melizzi Golja, Ward 8 Resident
  • Homa Jaferey, Ward 9 Resident

Additional Focus Groups:

  • Social Media – Mayor & City pages, Civic Sounding Board, Nashua Area Kayak Exploration page and Nashua Past, Present and Future page
  • Flyers – Library, YMCA, Boys & Girls Club
  • Newsletters – GAD, Library & Chamber of Commerce
  • Telegraph – print ad on 1/3/21 and daily digital ad with online version for 30 days starting in mid-January
  • Mayors Ward meetings – 9 wards
  • Small Group meetings – Plus Co, Smart Start Collation, Interfaith Council, Greater Nashua Continuum of Care, One Greater Nashua, Planning Board, Animal & Dog Park Committee, 21st Century Club, GSOP, Rotaries, National Honor Society, Temple Beth Abraham, Senior Book Club, BIDA, Nashua Presbyterian, Community Connections via United Way, Airport Authority, and Cultural Connections Committee (ranging from 4 to 20+ people per meeting)
  • General invites go to: citizens who have signed up, City Board and Commission members, all City and School Staff, SAU, PTO Presidents, private school administration, Southwest Quad neighborhood, Edgewood cemetery neighborhood, points of contact with the: non-profit administration, Senior Center, Nashua International Sculpture Symposium, Arts Commission, Brazilian community, Spanish community, Indian community, Islamic Society, Nepalese community, Swahili community, faith based leadership, Nashua Regional Planning Commission, engineering and land use attorney community, and Nashua’s legislative delegation

What is a Master Plan?

A long-term planning document, focused on land use policies, that outlines a vision for the future of Nashua, with clear strategies and tactics to guide future decision-making and programs across the community. This Master Plan will engage in an inclusive citywide discussion with voices who aren’t typically at the table, to achieve a more well rounded perspective on key policy decisions.

Why plan now?

Nashua’s previous Master Plan was completed in 2000, since then a number of topic- and area-focused planning efforts have been undertaken by the City. This is an important opportunity to take stock of the overarching goals and vision for the city, and provide a consistent guide for long-term municipal policy. Imagine Nashua will build on the successes of the 2000 Master Plan and integrate current existing planning initiatives, into a comprehensive framework guiding future growth in the city.

Vison Statement

Nashua is committed to being a welcoming, diverse, and forward-thinking city that offers a variety of economic, housing, educational, and recreational opportunities throughout a vibrant and resilient community that provides a high quality of life.

What topics will be addressed in this Plan?

Arts and Culture
Open Space and Natural Resources
Economic Growth
Land Use and Development
Mobility and Transit


Enagement Timeline